About Us Teams Schedule of Games News Photo Gallery Contact Us Links

May 27, 2010 - The seven-day Cebuana Lhuillier National Softball Open championships hosted by Baguio City concluded with the victories of Rizal Technological University (RTU) in the men's division and University of Santo Tomas (UST) in the women's division.

RTU Blue Thunder's win against Cavite Province- Philippine Navy All Stars, 4-2, was their seventh straight, while protecting their unbeaten records the past two years when they triumphed in the recent State Colleges and Universities Athletic Association, Commission on Higher Education meets and the Softball Pilipinas first semi-pro tilt, all this year, the 2009 Association of Southeast Asian Nations championship in Brunei, and the Philippine Olympic Festival.

Reigning UAAP champions UST Golden Tigresses beat RTU Lady Thunders, 3-1, thwarting RTU's shot at a sweep of both the men's and women's divisions.

Taking third place were the MS of Marikina City in the men's division and UP-Mama Sita's in the women's division.

"We aim to promote appreciation for softball in the country especially among the youth. We are positive that many promising softball players will emerge from these tournaments," said Amateur Softball Association of the Philippines (ASAPHIL) President and PJ Lhuillier Group of Companies CEO Jean Henri Lhuillier.

A total of 22 teams participated in this year's championships, which marked the 46th edition of the annual event, having first started in 1964.

The Philippines was in the international softball spotlight ten months ago as one of the participants in the International Softball Federation's XII Men's World Championship. Later this year their women's team will compete in the 16th Asian Games, set for Guangzhou, China, in mid-November.

Special thanks to ASAPHIL for contributing the Open Championship report

Copyright © 2009  Softball Pilipnas. All rights reserved.